Canon Expo 2015 at Jacob Javits Center

Today I had the wonderful chance to attend the Canon 2015 Expo at the Javits Center in New York City. It was amazing. The technology Canon uses is way beyond my head. The first section I entered was the professional printing section. Me being an Etsy artist who uses a Canon Pixma Pro 100 and a Canon scanner was expecting some small printers. Boy I was wrong. A massive printer called the Oce Arizona 6170 XTS was pretty much the highlight of the room. It is a flatbed printer that is at least 8 ft by 10 ft as it can print an image of that size!

WP_20150910_013 WP_20150910_015WP_20150910_014

The printing process was quick and mesmirizing to watch. I also had the chance to get my own foam board with Lady Liberty printed on it from the flatbed printer, given to me by the man above.

I pretty much stayed in that room for most of the time as the printers and other displays in the room were just cool to look at.

WP_20150910_011

WP_20150910_026
This is a gigantic roll of paper and images printed from another huge printer in the room.
WP_20150910_022
A massive display of the images printed from the rolls of paper.
WP_20150910_016
A 2.5 D (As a Canon lady described it) image. It pops out of the wall.

WP_20150910_020

I then made my way into the rest of the exhibitions including the film production, stadium, and imaging journey which had pretty insane installations that made me feel as if I was tripping on a drug.

Part of my trip into a fake film site with real Canon cameras working and filming.
Part of my trip into a fake film site with real Canon cameras working and filming (and probably some real film makers and an actress too).
You would believe you were at airport waiting for your plane to arrive, but its just a photorealistic. I was floored at that point.
You would believe you were at airport waiting for your plane to arrive, but its just a photorealistic. I was floored at that point.
How many people can say they felt the brushstrokes of a Rembrant painting? Well everyone who went to this exhibition at the Canon expo...
How many people can say they felt the brushstrokes of a Rembrant painting? Well everyone who went to this exhibition at the Canon expo…
A 2.5D printed image of the girl with the pearl earring..With the brushstrokes and feeling of them!
A 2.5D printed image of the girl with the pearl earring..With the brushstrokes and feeling of them!
This image was printed. The entire stadium! And the experience seemed so real! There was seating for spectators behind me while I took the image, a live replay of what was going on in the field, noise as if there was a real audience...endless additions that seemed so real!
This image was printed. The entire stadium! And the experience seemed so real! There was seating for spectators behind me while I took the image, a live replay of what was going on in the field, noise as if there was a real audience…endless additions that seemed so real!
Can you imagine just walking into a film set with tons of cameras and recorders? That is exactly what this felt like.
Can you imagine just walking into a film set with tons of cameras and recorders? That is exactly what this felt like.

The next stop was the university, medical & wellness, and advanced industry solutions exhibitions which highlighted the important things Canon does. The university section was connected to medical and wellness with displays on technology used by certain schools from Canon. I also saw some designs for telescopes in the room which were cool.

WP_20150910_046

The medical and wellness center was so important. As soon as I walked in the room I felt like I was in a medical center or conference. I could definitely sense doctors in the room. The machines they had for vision, heart, and specifically breast cancer were revolutionary. My favorite one was the one where a patient lies stomach down on a bed that has a hole for the breast of the patient to enter, and it scans the breast by vibrating the blood cells, non-invasively to display the blood vessels to detect any abnormalities. It was cool.

The medical and wellness center
The medical and wellness center
The breast tissue imaging machine (my favorite machine at the Canon expo)
The breast tissue imaging machine (my favorite machine at the Canon expo)
The wellness center
The wellness center (probably with real doctors)

The most amazing part of the industry solutions exhibition was the augmented reality portion where you wear a headpiece and hold a tool that allows you to visualize a piece of equipment such as a printer or scanner or machine that could be in build mode or has a design, and actually interact with that design in 360 degrees all over. It is great technology for industries that require mechanical fixing of machines and those who are looking to interact digitally with other members on a project or workers who cannot physically be there to fix problems. That was spectacular.

Not the best photo but one of the coolest experiences. You had to be there to experience it yourself.
Not the best photo but one of the coolest experiences. You had to be there to experience it yourself.

Being a Canon expo, I am sure I would see my measly printer and the well known cameras and lenses, and I sure did see them, but they were not teeming with people as the other exhibitons. Here are the lenses and some cameras in a small display in the home and enterprise area.

The well known Canon Cameras and lenses.
The well known Canon Cameras and lenses, you know… they had to be there somewhere.

That was pretty much the end of my Canon Expo experience. I took home some more free posters at the printing area (see 1 below). Overall, it was a blast and I can’t wait to be invited again.

Canon expo 2015

*Note: I am not a professional at medical terms or Canon, I am just a guest they invited so if some statements seem incorrect or unclear, please be aware that this is just a blog/ review of a single persons experience. I am sure more experienced expo goers reviews can be searched online. Either way, I hope you enjoyed the post!

Leave a Reply

